Waiting on Wednesday is a meme I’ve participated in for years which lets readers share their excitement for books coming out soon, and this week my pick is for a series which I’ve been enjoying for the last few years.  Anyway, the novel I’m eagerly awaiting is . . .

black line

city of liesCity of Lies by Sam Hawke

Genre: Fantasy

Series: Poison Wars #1

Publisher: Tor Books (July 3, 2018)

Author Information: Website | Twitter

Length: 560 pages

This amazing epic fantasy debut is perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Naomi Novik.

I was seven years old the first time my uncle poisoned me… Outwardly, Jovan is the lifelong friend of the Chancellor’s charming, irresponsible Heir. Quiet. Forgettable. In secret, he’s a master of poisons and chemicals, trained to protect the Chancellor’s family from treachery. When the Chancellor succumbs to an unknown poison and an army lays siege to the city, Jovan and his sister Kalina must protect the Heir and save their city-state.

But treachery lurks in every corner, and the ancient spirits of the land are rising…and angry.

Purchase the book at Amazon.

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.


  1. judithcmoore says:

    oooh I like that cover design!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. proxyfish says:

    This sounds really good – can’t beat a bit of treachery!!! I’m always a bit suspicious when blurbs say “for fans of…” but I think I’d still give this a go 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Plot Monster says:

    This sounds really good.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This sounds veery interesting! Adding to TBR 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hmm, I can definitely see the Robin Hobb influence in that blurb. Sounds like it could be an interesting read, but that cover needs to. I had to look twice to figure out it was a hand holding a dagger and not a deformed foot. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yeah. Totally feeling this one too!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. @lynnsbooks says:

    Hope you enjoy it.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Love the cover and am so looking forward to this one!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Reblogged this on Archer's Aim and commented:
    Always good to see what’s coming and get it on the TBR list.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I got a surprise ARC of this in the mail last week. Looks intriguing

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s