STACKING THE SHELVES, VOL. 22

sTACKING THE sHELVES

Stacking the Shelves over at Tynga’s Reviews is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, whether it be physically or virtually. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

Well, this was a really good week for my reading fetish.

border

the house of danielThe House of Daniel by Harry Turtledove

Genre: Alternate History — Urban Fantasy

Series: Stand Alone

Publisher:  Tor (April 19, 2016)

Length:  336 pages

A picaresque tale of minor league baseball—in an alternate Great Depression America full of wild magic.

Since the Big Bubble popped in 1929, life in the United States hasn’t been the same. Hotshot wizards will tell you nothing’s really changed, but then again, hotshot wizards aren’t looking for honest work in Enid, Oklahoma. No paying jobs at the mill, because zombies will work for nothing. The diner on Main Street is seeing hard times as well, because a lot fewer folks can afford to fly carpets in from miles away.

Jack Spivey’s just another down-and-out trying to stay alive, doing a little of this and a little of that. Sometimes that means making a few bucks playing ball with the Enid Eagles, against teams from as many as two counties away. And sometimes it means roughing up rival thugs for Big Stu, the guy who calls the shots in Enid.

But one day Jack knocks on the door of the person he’s supposed to “deal with”—and realizes that he’s not going to do any such thing to the young lady who answers. This means he needs to get out of the reach of Big Stu, who didn’t get to where he is by letting defiance go unpunished.

Then the House of Daniel comes to town—a brash band of barnstormers who’ll take on any team, and whose antics never fail to entertain. Against the odds Jack secures a berth with them. Now they’re off to tour an America that’s as shot through with magic as it is dead broke. Jack will never be the same—nor will baseball.

PURCHASE THE BOOK AT AMAZON.

border

the sorcerer's daughterThe Sorcerer’s Daughter by Terry Brooks

Genre: Fantasy

Series: The Defender’s of Shannara #3

Publisher:  Del Rey (May 24, 2016)

Author Information: Website | Twitter

Length:  352 pages

The third stand-alone Shannara novel in the Defenders of Shannara series, following The High Druid’s Blade and The Darkling Child, easily accessible to new readers of epic fantasy.

The daughter of a reviled sorcerer, Leofur is nothing like her dreaded father. When her life-partner, Paxon Leah, leaves on a dangerous mission, Leofur protects Paxon’s sister. When she is abducted Leofur is forced to choose between saving Paxon from a mission gone badly awry, or hiring the services of the best tracker in the world to go after her life-partner’s sister.

PURCHASE THE BOOK AT AMAZON.

border

age of mythAge of Myth by Michael J. Sullivan

Genre: Fantasy

Series: The First Empire #1 

Publisher:  Del Rey (June 28, 2016)

Author Information: Website | Twitter

Length:  432 pages

What does it mean if the gods can be killed? The first novel in an epic new fantasy series for readers of Brent Weeks, Brandon Sanderson, Peter V. Brett, and Scott Lynch.

Michael J. Sullivan’s trailblazing career began with the breakout success of his Riyria series: full-bodied, spellbinding fantasy adventures whose imaginative scope and sympathetic characters won a devoted readership. Now, Sullivan’s stunning hardcover debut, Age of Myth, inaugurates an original five-book series, and one of fantasy’s finest next-generation storytellers continues to break new ground.

Since time immemorial, humans have worshipped the gods they call Fhrey, truly a race apart: invincible in battle, masters of magic, and seemingly immortal. But when a god falls to a human blade, the balance of power between men and those they thought were gods changes forever. Now, only a few stand between humankind and annihilation: Raithe, reluctant to embrace his destiny as the God Killer, Suri, a young seer burdened by signs of impending doom, and Persephone, who must overcome personal tragedy to lead her people. The Age of Myth is over; the time of rebellion has begun.

PURCHASE THE BOOK AT AMAZON.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Stacking the Shelves and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to STACKING THE SHELVES, VOL. 22

  1. @lynnsbooks says:

    I definitely want that Age of Myth book – I don’t know why but it is just calling to me!!
    Happy reading.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tammy says:

    Age of Myth sounds really good! If I weren’t so overloaded with review books I wohld be all over it:-)

    Like

  3. Of couse I looking forward to Age of Myth (actually, MJS just posted on his blog today explaining why and how he changed the names of the books), but The House of Daniel has been only my radar for quite a while.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The Age of Myth is the most compelling book of your showcase: I have never read anything by Michael Sullivan, but I hear great things about him. And that cover is nothing short of eye-catching!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sweet! Age of Myth is high on my reading list for later this year as well. I also received a copy of that baseball book – I didn’t think it would be for me, but that was before I really checked out the description. Might actually be a fun one, I’ll have to see!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s